Page  of 2 Next >>
Jstoner
Newbie Plus
Newbie Plus

Online Status: Offline
Quote Jstoner Replybullet Topic: Barretts and Alcohol and Stress
    Posted: 15†Jan†2012 at 12:46am
Hello,
I am new to Barretts. My doctor did a endoscopy thursday and informed me of his findings. He took a biopsy to confirm his findings. I know that mine was caused by stress. I've had my own business for the last ten years and it has taken its toll on me. This is the last straw for me. I've decided to sell my business. What I want know is the following:   I've read various articles correlating Alcohol to increased cancer risk. I just want a couple of glasses of champagne a day. Have any of your doctors blessed moderate champagne or white wine daily?   
One last question: A friend of mine suggest I drink marijuana tea for relaxation. Has anyone heard about the effects of marijuana tea? Thanks
IP IP Logged
jcombs99

Quote jcombs99 Replybullet Posted: 15†Jan†2012 at 12:54pm
Jstoner
Don't rush into anything .I was up till very late dealing with crooks getting a furnace fixed...Times are very hard now so if your making money keep it just take more vactions and TRY not to get upset..I'm sure my dealing caused my barretts so try to lighten up forget the tea and be happy your not on that cruise ship ..Take your PPi's......

Jeff
IP IP Logged
chrisrob
Admin Group
Admin Group

Quote chrisrob Replybullet Posted: 15†Jan†2012 at 1:29pm
Hi Jack and welcome,

If you have identified stress as the main causal factor of your reflux problems, have you tried stress management?

Alcohol is generally thought to relax the lower oesophageal sphincter and oesophageal muscles making reflux easier and peristalsis harder. However, there have been some contradictory findings in research. This page has details.
I suggest you conduct your own experiments to see whether you experience reflux more when you drink it or not.